Indoor marijuana cultivation is a multi-billion dollar enterprise. While most assume profits are the driving force behind growing pot, but medical use has lead otherwise law abiding citizens to growing their own supply. The DEA and Drug Task Forces use clever investigative tools and surveillance to find and raid suspected grow houses–regardless of the accused growers purpose.
In November of 2016 Moore County deputies served a search warrant related to a larceny-of-power investigation. A 700-pound transformer had been installed to siphon power from the grid for the grow house. A total of 109 marijuana plants were seized weighing 606 pounds. The street value was estimated at $2,121,000. The resulting charges included trafficking of marijuana manufacturing of marijuana, felony possession of marijuana, felony maintaining a dwelling to store a controlled-substance, possession of drug paraphernalia, felony larceny and property damage.
Growing even a small amount for personal use can still result serious consequences. Cultivation of less than 10 pounds of marijuana is a class I felony punishable by up to a year in imprisonment and a discretionary fine for a first offense. As marijuana is classified under Schedule VI, even a possession charge carries up to 30 days in jail.
North Carolina Marijuana Cultivation Penalties
As many other states vote to make marijuana legal for recreational and/or medical purposes, pot remains illegal in North Carolina. The particulars of each case are especially relevant to the outcome of your case. North Carolina General Statutes § 90-95 sets for the following penalties.
- Up ten pounds. Penalties include a fine of up to $5,000, up to one year in jail, or both.
- Between ten and 50 pounds. Penalties include a fine of up to $500, a mandatory minimum prison time of 25 months (and up to 30 months), or both.
- Between 50 and 2,000 pounds. Penalties include a fine of up to $25,000, a mandatory minimum prison time of 35 months (and up to 42 months), or both.
- Between 2,000 and 10,000 pounds. Penalties include a fine of up to $50,000, a mandatory minimum prison time of 70 months (and up to 84 months), or both.
- 10,000 pounds or more. Penalties include a fine of up to $200,000, a mandatory minimum prison time of 179 months (and up to 219 months), or both.
Raleigh Marijuana Cultivation Defense Attorney
As the quantity of marijuana increases, so do the penalties if convicted. You could loss your job and struggle to get a new one with a conviction on your record. If you hold a professional license, you can expect it to be canceled if you’re convicted. The result of your case depends on the specific circumstances involved. Previous arrests and/or convictions, as well as the amount of drugs you had can affect your sentence greatly.
It is critical that you have strong legal defense in you are facing criminal charges for growing marijuana. DeMent Askew has the depth of understanding and experience you’ll need to get the best possible results. Don’t delay to contact us! No good will come from your being questioned or interrogated about marijuana cultivation without defense counsel present.