You Could Have Your License Suspended for a Traffic Offense
Driving is something that is earned through lawful and safe operation of a vehicle. But depending on which North Carolina traffic offense you commit, your license could be suspended.
Reasons Why Your License Could Be Suspended in Raleigh
There are several ways that you could lose your driver’s license. The courts, along with the DMV, determine the different levels of fines and penalties depending on the traffic offense committed. These include:
- Driving aggressively or recklessly
- 30 day suspension for driving without vehicle liability insurance
- One year suspension for failing or not submitting a breathalyzer test
- Driving while impaired renders a one year suspension for first-time offenders with fines along with 24 hours of community service and jail time. Should you receive a second DWI within three years of the first, your license will be suspended for four years
- Neglecting to pay child support
- Failing to pay traffic fines and surcharges is a traffic offense
- Racing on a public highway, betting or watching a race. Your license can be suspended for three years
- Illegal transportation of alcohol
- Failure to respond to a DMV notice or failure to appear in court
- Obtaining a learner’s permit of license under false pretenses will incur a one-year suspension
- Accumulating 12 points and more for any traffic violation in a three-year period incurs a 60 days’ license suspension
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol and causing manslaughter will result in a one year suspension of your driver’s license
- Driving over the limit of 55 mph by a minimum of 15 mph in a 12 month period will incur a 30 days’ suspension
- Continuing to drive with a suspended license or no license at all will increase your suspension and could even lead to imprisonment for as much as five years
What Happens If You Drive with a Suspended License?
If your license has been suspended and you continue to drive, you could face a Class 1 misdemeanor charge along with a sentence involving possible time in jail and a fine. The North Carolina courts will decide on how much your fine should be for the traffic offense and the jail sentence will depend on whether or not you have previous convictions for continuing to drive after a suspension.
Further suspension penalties include:
- Permanent suspension for third and subsequent offenses
- Two years’ suspension for a second offense
- One year suspension for a first traffic offense
- Possibility of your vehicle being seized should you commit DWI with a suspended sentence
Let Us Help You
DeMent Askew attorneys will give you honest advice at each stage of your case to ensure you have realistic expectations of the outcome of your traffic offense. There are many offenses that could cost you your driver’s license and impact your ability to travel. If you have committed a violation, you will need to find out if the charges can be reduced or dropped completely. Contact us for a free evaluation via our online form or talk to an attorney now by calling 919-833-5555.