Texting while driving, as well as other types of distractive driving, has become something of an epidemic across the United States. Statistics show that distracted driving is behind thousands of car, truck, bicycle, and motorcycle accidents each year. In fact, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) finds that 3,328 people were killed in distracted driving accidents in 2012, and more than 400,000 more were injured.
Research also shows that sending and receiving text messages takes a driver’s eyes off the road for an average of five seconds, which means that a driver who is texting travels about the length of a football field without looking at the road. According to an article by the Federal Communications Commission, drivers who text are 23 times more likely to crash than non-texting drivers.
Have you or someone you love been injured by a texting driver? If so, contact the texting while driving attorneys at DeMent Askew so we can help you. Our experienced texting and driving accident attorneys have more than 40 years of experience fighting for the rights of people harmed through no fault of their own. We will stand beside you and help you navigate the complexities of the legal system while seeking financial compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
North Carolina Texting and Driving Laws
North Carolina has not completely banned the use of cell phones while driving. However, it is a primary offense for bus drivers to use cell phones, either handheld or with a hands-free device, and it is a primary offense for novice drivers, under the age of 18, to use a cell phone, again either the device itself or with a hands-free device. While adult drivers may use a cell phone, it is unlawful for any driver to text while operating a motor vehicle.
Specifically, the law deems it illegal to enter letters or text into a device as a means of communicating with another person, or read mail or texts transmitted to or stored on the device. Bus drivers who violate this law will be charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor. Drivers who violate this law will be guilty of an infraction and fined $100.00 plus court costs.
Exceptions to the law include drivers who are legally parked or stopped, using voice operated technologies, or using a global positioning system (GPS).
Raleigh Texting and Driving Accident Attorneys
If you have been involved in a texting and driving accident in Raleigh, contact the attorneys at DeMent Askew as soon as possible. We fight for the rights of those who have been injured by drivers who text while operating a vehicle. We offer free case evaluations and aggressively advocate for those who seek compensation for lost wages, pain and suffering, and current and future medical bills. If you have been injured or a loved wrongfully died in a texting and driving accident, call DeMent Askew at 919-833-5555 so we can begin building your case and fighting for your right to compensation.